About Us | Activity | Achievement | Flood Bulletin | Tenders | Documents | Employee Records | Contact Us

  Recruitment Rules | Office Orders | Photo Gallery | Expenditure Statement | Foreign Visits | Monitoring Visits



  Visits: Hit Counter



Ministry of
Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation,
Govt. of India


Site Map


Resolution No. FC 47(2)/72

Website Policies

Terms & Conditions







About Us


Ganga Flood Control Commission (GFCC), a subordinate office of Ministry of Water Resources, with its headquarter at Patna, was created in the year 1972 to deal with floods and its management in Ganga Basin States vide Govt. of India Resolution No. F.C. 47(3)/72 dated 18th April 1972, as secretariat and executive wing of Ganga Flood Control Board, headed by Hon'ble Union Minister of Water Resources, Chief Ministers of basin States or their representative and Members, Planning Commission, are the members of the Board. Chairman, GFCC acts as the Member-Secretary of the Board.


The Commission is headed by a Chairman, who is assisted by two full time Members, four Directors and 94 nos. of supporting staff. The representatives of the concerned Central Ministries as well as Chief Engineers of the basin States are either part-time Members or permanent invitees of the Commission.


(1) Delegation of Financial Powers to HoDs under Ministry of Water Resources under DFPRs 1978.

(2) National Water Awards.


Status of Schemes

Click here for detailed info on progress made with respect to different schemes.

GFCC e-Office

Link for Sparrow


Ganga Basin States


Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, NCT of Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttranchal, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal are the Ganga Basin States. Click here to learn more about it.


Picture of Ganga Basin in Bihar



All Rights Reserved. Ganga Flood Control Commission, Patna (Govt. of India)

Last updated on: 27-11-2015.